Pomodoro Moments

Although it is constant, time is a very elusive commodity. One way to harness it is through attention and focus. I have adopted a technique that I have started to apply to my writing practice. I call it Pomodoro Moments.

“Pomodoro”, which means tomato in Italian, is a time-management technique, that got its name from a kitchen timer in the shape of a tomato. To put it simply, it is a way of breaking down time into twenty-five minutes chunks with a five minute break to help us focus with our full attention on one task at a time. I have been aware of this technique for about two years, but only started to use it more frequently here in Bali.

To improve the quality of attention, instead of taking the five minute break after, I take it before. I have the luxury of working from home where I can lie down any time I choose to. I start my five minute Pomodoro moment by lying down and letting go of everything.  I soak the moment and let thoughts float by like clouds in the sky. Then the timer rings and I focus on only one task for twenty-five minutes. If I finish it before the time is up -which is rare – I turn my attention to the present moment. The light, the air, the sounds , my posture…

When the timer rings and I am not finished with what I am doing, I work on it a little more to make sure I don’t loose the tread for when I go back to it later. Then I take another five minutes break.

This practice is also good on the eyes and the back – for a lot of my work is computer based. I sometime use the five minutes break to stretch or to do some eye exercises.

As well as being effective, I have come to appreciate my pomodoro moments as a practice in attention and mindfulness.  Paradoxically, containing time in 5-25 chunks, has allowed me to be less pressured by it.

_________________________________________

One sentence journal – day eleven:
“Two entangled dogs, reminded me of the tragedy of the commons”

L.

2 thoughts on “Pomodoro Moments”

Leave a comment